Jacques Attali’s Biography

Professor, writer, Honorary Member of the Council of State, Special Adviser to the President of the Republic from 1981 to 1991, founder and first President of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development in London from 1991 to 1993, Jacques Attali (www.attali.com) is currently CEO  of A&A, an international consulting firm in strategy, based in Paris, and President of PlaNet Finance, an international non-profit organisation assisting microfinance institutions  all over the world. PlaNet Finance is the most important world institution of support to the microfinance.  PlaNet Finance advises and finances the development of the microfinance in 80 countries, and launched the LH Forum, movement for positive economy (www.ecoplus.tv).

He founded Action Contre la Faim in 1980 and the European programme Eurêka (a major European programme on new technologies that invented, among other things, the MP3).  In, 1989, he also launched an international programme of action against the disastrous floods in Bangladesh.  Jacques Attali then advised the Secretary General of the United Nations on the risks of nuclear proliferation.  He is at the origin of the higher education reform, known as LMD, to bring all European degrees into line.

Jacques Attali has a doctorate in Economics and is a graduate of the Ecole Polytechnique (first in the class of 1963), the Ecole des Mines, the Institut d’Etudes Politiques and the Ecole Nationale de l’Administration. He taught Economic Theory at the Ecole Polytechnique, the Ecole des Ponts et Chaussées and the University of Paris-Dauphine.  He has received honorary doctorates from several foreign universities and is a member of the Universal Academy of Cultures.

Jacques Attali is an editorialist for the magazine L’Express. He has written fifty books, translated into more than twenty languages, with over six million copies sold all over the world, including essays (dealing with a wide variety of subjects ranging from mathematical economics, to music), biographies, novels, children’s tales and plays.

Jacques Attali was nominated President of the Commission for the liberation for French economic growth by the President of the French Republic in August 2007.

He belongs to the top 100 public intellectuals in the world, according to the Foreign Policy Magazine (May/June 2008 and 2010).

| More

Biographie de Jacques Attali

Professeur, écrivain, conseiller d’Etat honoraire, conseiller spécial auprès du Président de la République de 1981 à 1991, fondateur et premier président de la Banque Européenne pour la Reconstruction et le Développement à Londres de 1991 à 1993, Jacques Attali est maintenant président de A&A, société internationale de conseils en stratégie, basée à Paris, et président de PlaNet Finance, Organisation de Solidarité Internationale spécialisée dans le développement de la microfinance. PlaNet Finance est la plus importante institution mondiale de soutien à la microfinance. Elle conseille et finance le développement de la microfinance dans 80 pays et est à l’initiative du LH Forum, mouvement pour l’économie positive (www.ecoplus.tv).

En 1980, il fonde Action Contre la Faim et lance en 1984 le programme européen Eurêka (vaste programme sur les nouvelles technologies qui a donné naissance, entre autres, au MP3). En 1989, il lance un programme international d’action contre les inondations catastrophiques au Bangladesh. Jacques Attali a ensuite conseillé le Secrétaire Général des Nations Unies sur les risques de prolifération nucléaire. Il est à l’origine de la réforme de l’enseignement supérieure d’harmonisation des diplômes européens, dite LMD.

Docteur d’Etat en sciences économiques, Jacques Attali est diplômé de l’Ecole Polytechnique (major de la promotion 1963), de l’Ecole des Mines, de l’Institut d’Etudes Politiques et de l’Ecole Nationale de l’Administration. Il a enseigné l’économie théorique à l’Ecole Polytechnique, à l’École des Ponts et Chaussées et à l’Université Paris-Dauphine. Il est docteur honoris causa de plusieurs universités étrangères et membre de l’Académie Universelle des Cultures.

Jacques Attali est également éditorialiste à L’Express. Il est l’auteur de plus de cinquante livres, traduits dans plus de vingt langues et diffusés à plus de six millions d’exemplaires à travers le monde, comprenant des essais (sur des sujets allant de l’économie mathématique à la musique), des biographies, des romans, des contes pour enfants, des biographies et des pièces de théâtre.

Jacques Attali a été nommé Président de la Commission pour la Libération de la Croissance Française par le Président de la République en aout 2007.

Selon le Magazine Foreign Policy (2008 et 2010), Jacques Attali est l’un des cents intellectuels les plus importants du monde.

| More